Martin Sinclair Named Chair of Commission on Professionalism

  • Martin SinclairJames DeAno designated Vice-Chair
  • John Kim appointed Commissioner
  • Jeffrey Jackson retires from Commission

The Supreme Court of Illinois has appointed Martin Sinclair as Chair of the Commission on Professionalism, effective January 1, 2019. Mr. Sinclair, an attorney at Sperling & Slater, P.C. in Chicago, previously served as Commission Vice-Chair. His term as Chair will expire on December 31, 2020.

In addition, Commissioner James DeAno, managing partner at DeAno & Scarry, LLC in Chicago, has been designated Vice-Chair for a term expiring December 31, 2019. John Kim, counsel at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. in Bloomington, has been appointed as a new Commissioner for a term expiring December 31, 2021. Mr. Kim replaces Jeffrey Jackson, who retired from the Commission as of December 31, 2018.

“The Court is pleased to appoint Martin as Chair of the Commission on Professionalism. As Vice-Chair, he has been dedicated to advancing the highest standards of conduct among lawyers and judges in Illinois,” said Illinois Supreme Court Justice Robert Thomas. “I’d also like to recognize Jeffrey for his many years of service to the Commission, and welcome John as a new Commissioner. I look forward to continuing on our road to professionalism in 2019.”

Mr. Sinclair assumes the role of Chair from Hon. Debra Walker, judge for the Circuit Court of Cook County, who chaired the Commission from 2013 through 2018. Judge Walker will continue to serve as a Commissioner with a term expiring December 31, 2020.

“I’m honored to assume the role of Commission Chair. We’ve built an organization that’s vital to ensuring the tenets of civility and professionalism are upheld in the Illinois legal community. I anticipate furthering our commitment through innovative programming that elevates the administration of justice in our society, and continuing to execute the nationally renowned programming we’ve developed to date,” said Mr. Sinclair. “In addition, I’d like to thank Judge Walker for her leadership as Chair. I’m excited to have the opportunity to continue our work together in the coming years.”

The Supreme Court of Illinois reappointed four Commissioners for terms expiring December 31, 2021.

  • Jennifer Johnson, a recently retired educator and principal based in Joliet
  • John Kujawski, founding partner of Kujawski Marcus, LLC in O’Fallon
  • William Moran III, principal at Stratton, Moran, Sronce, Reichert & Nardulli, in Springfield
  • Lance Northcutt, trial lawyer and partner at Goldberg Weisman Cairo, Ltd. in Chicago

All designations were effective as of January 1, 2019.

About the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism 

The Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism was established by the Illinois Supreme Court in 2005 under Supreme Court Rule 799(c) to foster increased civility, professionalism, and inclusiveness among lawyers and judges in Illinois. By advancing the highest standards of conduct among lawyers and judges, 2Civility works to better serve clients and society alike. For more information, please visit and follow us on Twitter @2CivilityOrg.

Press Contact 

Laura Bagby, Communications Director


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *