Commission on Professionalism Welcomes Judge Diane Shelley

Commission Welcomes Judge Diane ShelleyA new year calls for a new commissioner here at the Commission on Professionalism. Last November, the Illinois Supreme Court entered an order appointing a new commissioner to the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism. Hon. Diane Shelley, a judge within the Law Division of the Circuit Court of Cook County, begins her three-year term this January. 

As an active member of the Chicago legal community, Judge Diane Shelley has served the Circuit Court of Cook County since 2006. Prior to joining the bench, she practiced law for 25 years in Illinois.  

Outside of the courtroom, Judge Diane Shelley serves as the Third Vice-President of the Illinois Judges Association and as a member of the Special Supreme Court Advisory Committee on Justice and Mental Health Planning. She also serves as a faculty member of the Illinois Judicial Conference on Education, and was the former Chair of the Illinois Judicial Council. 

Hon. Debra Walker, Chair of the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism believes Judge Shelley will make a great addition to our team: 

We are thrilled to have my colleague, Judge Diane Shelley, join the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism.  She is a leader in the judicial community, particularly in the areas of judicial education, diversity and inclusion, and wellness, so we excitedly anticipate her many contributions to the commission.

Judge Shelley will be replacing John E. Corkery, whose term expired at the end of 2017. Corkery has served on the Commission since 2006. 

Judge Diane Shelley’s term begins January 1, 2018, and is effective until December 31, 2020. 

In addition to appointing Judge Shelley, the court order reappointed several existing commissioners to the Commission on Professionalism. Effective January 1, 2018, Honorable Debra B. Walker, Honorable Jorge L. Alonso, Martin V. Sinclair, and John F. O’Reilly were reappointed as members of the Commission on Professionalism. Each of their terms will expire on December 31, 2020. 

Judge Debra Walker was also reappointed to serve as Chair of the Commission for a one-year term ending on December 31, 2018. 

Created to advance professionalism within the legal profession, the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism relies on our fourteen commissioners to ensure civility remains a cornerstone of law practice throughout the entire state. Our team is excited to kick off a new year with several familiar faces and one new face in 2018. 

About the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism

The Commission on Professionalism was established by the Illinois Supreme Court in September 2005 to foster increased civility, professionalism and inclusion among lawyers and judges in the State of Illinois. By advancing the highest standards of conduct among lawyers, we work to better serve clients and society alike. These duties upheld by the Commission are defined under Supreme Court Rule 799(c). For more information, please visit, the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism’s website.

Press Contact

Erika Kubik
Communications Specialist

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *