Margaret Brent Award Honors Achievement of Women Lawyers

women lawyers margaret brent awardsDid you know the first female attorney began practicing in the United States back in 1638? A talented negotiator and accomplished litigator, Margaret Brent never lost a case. In fact, she paved the way for women lawyers around the nation.

Fast forward to 2016. We’ve come a long way. Thanks to the many female leaders who mentored and influenced other women to pursue legal careers, women lawyers now make up nearly half of the population of attorneys across the country. However, we have a long way to go, especially when it comes to women in leadership roles.

That’s why, each year, the American Bar Association’s Commission on Women in the Profession honors women lawyers who strive to open doors for young girls across the country through the Margaret Brent Award.

This award, established in 1991, celebrates and acknowledges the women who have excelled in their field, creating future opportunities for other women lawyers to follow in their footsteps.

Currently, nominations are open for the 2017 honoree.

To nominate a female leader for the Margaret Brent Award, submit the following materials:

  1. Nomination Form – Complete and submit the online nomination form.
  2. Nominee’s Resume – Include the nominee’s resume or biography, describing her background and contributions.
  3. Award Criteria Narrative – In a maximum of two typed pages, provide specific, concrete examples displaying the potential honoree has achieved professional excellence in her field AND influenced other women to pursue legal careers, OR opened doors for women lawyers in a variety of job settings that historically were closed to them, OR advanced opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession.
  4. Articles and Letters – To present a comprehensive picture of the nominee, please include up to 10 news or magazine articles written by or about the candidate, and no more than 5 letters of support from individuals or organizations reaffirming the nominee.

The ABA Commission is cutting off submissions at the end of the business day on Friday, December 16, 2016.

For any additional questions and concerns, please contact Kirsten Crowhurst at 312-988-5668 or via email at brentaward@americanbar.org.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *