Future Law

The ABA Silver Gavel Awards Celebrate 60th Anniversary

silver gavel awardsDid you know the legal profession has its own version of the Academy Awards? The Academy gives out a Gold Oscar; we give out a Silver Gavel.

For the last 60 years, the Silver Gavel Awards, put on by the American Bar Association’s Division for Public Education, has been honoring a wide array of media and arts that educate the public about the American legal system. Each year, recipients go above and beyond informing the public about current practices, policies, and issues prevalent within our nation’s justice system.

The Silver Gavel Awards recognize winners in eight different categories that can include TV programs, documentaries, books, radio, commentary, magazines, commentary, drama and literature, and other media on a wide array of subject matters associated with the legal profession. The winners are selected by the ABA Standing Committee on Silver Gavel Awards, made up of 20 people, including the Commission’s Diversity and Education Director – Michelle Silverthorn for the second year in a row.

From the 19 finalists, Michelle and the other members of the Standing Committee on Silver Gavel Awards selected four submissions to earn Silver Gavels and an additional two entries to receive honorable mentions.

The 2017 Silver Gavel Award winners are:

The 2017 Honorable Mentions are:

The Silver Gavels award ceremony will be held July 18 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

Interested in learning more about the winners? We’ve written about a few of them here.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *