Nominations Open for Professional Responsibility Awards

professional responsibility awardWhen we aren’t educating lawyers on professionalism issues, the Commission helps showcase those practicing what we advocate. Each year, the National Conference on Professional Responsibility honors attorneys with professional responsibility awards at the educational program.

At the 2017 conference, two lawyers will be recognized for their work advancing professionalism, receiving the Michael Franck Award and the Rosner and Rosner Young Lawyers Professionalism Award.

The Michael Franck Award 

Named in honor of the late director of the State Bar of Michigan, the Michael Franck Award recognizes a more seasoned legal practitioner. This attorney models his professional identity after Franck — “a long-time champion of improvements in lawyer regulation in the public interest”.

Past recipients of this professional responsibility award were dedicated to areas of the profession including legal ethics, disciplinary enforcement, and lawyer civility. These men and women have also made scholarly contributions and have taken part in judicial initiatives and legislation that has advanced lawyer professionalism.

Those interested in nominating an attorney for the Michael Franck Award, must complete the following nomination form.

The 2017 Rosner and Rosner Young Lawyers Professionalism Award 

The Rosner and Rosner Young Lawyer Professionalism Award puts the spotlight on a newer lawyer. This attorney has showed a commitment early on in his/her career to legal and judicial ethics, lawyer professionalism, client protection, and professional regulation. Though this attorney may have less legal experience in the profession, he/she has already made a name for his/herself as a true mover and shaker.

Seth Rosen named the professional responsibility award to honor a young lawyer who models the work of his late partners – Oscar S. Rosner and John L. Rosner. Since 2010, the recipient will receive a lifetime membership in the ABA Center for Professional Responsibility and complimentary registration for the National Conference on Professional Responsibility. The honoree will also receive a one-year subscription to ABA/BNA Lawyers Manual on Professional Conduct.

Those interested in nominating an attorney for the Michael Franck Award, must complete the following nomination form.

Nominations are currently open for both professional responsibility awards. They will close on December 31, 2016.

Both awards are scheduled to be presented at the 2017 National Conference on Professional Responsibility in St. Louis. The program begins May 31, 2017 and continue on until June 2, 2017.


Share this:

Erika Kubik

Erika Kubik

Erika is the face of the Commission’s online platforms, developing strategies to increase 2Civility’s social presence across channels. As a recent graduate of Bradley University, Erika received her Bachelor of Arts studying Public Relations and Social Media Marketing where her passion for writing and brand development took flight. Outside of the office, Erika works to develop her own personal brand as she takes on Chicago for the first time having grown up just outside of the Greater St. Louis area. Though she may not be accustomed to the deep dish pizza as a Celiac, she has found the Windy City to be quite accommodating to her active lifestyle as a runner and fitness fanatic.
Erika Kubik

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *