Commission on Professionalism Welcomes New Commissioners

Commissioners 2015Created to advance professionalism within the legal profession, the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism relies on its fourteen commissioners to ensure civility remains a cornerstone of law practice throughout the entire state.

As of January 1, 2016, the Commission on Professionalism welcomed three new commissioners – Lance Northcutt, John Kujawski, and Jeffrey Jackson – who were appointed by the state’s Supreme Court Justices in December last year.

Lance Northcutt is an active member in the Chicago legal community. He currently serves as a trial lawyer at the Northcutt Firm P.C. and also has made his mark teaching as an adjunct professor at the John Marshall Law School and the Illinois Institute of Continuing Legal Education. Prior to his current role, Northcutt was the Assistant State’s Attorney for the Cook County State’s Attorney’s office in Chicago.

John Kujawski was the founding partner of his law firm in O’Fallon, IL — Kujawski Marcus, L.L.C. — which is primarily recognized for its representation of railroad workers and other personal injury cases throughout Southern Illinois and the Metro East. On top of his practice, Kujawski presides over the Academy of Rail Labor Attorneys (ARLA), and previously served as a commissioner of the ARDC from 2000-2010.

Jeffrey Jackson brings a unique perspective to the Commission as the Chief Legal Officer of State Farm Insurance. He is the only commissioner that acts as an in-house practitioner for a Fortune 500 corporation. Outside of the office, Jackson actively participates as a member of the Board of Overseers of the Searle Civil Justice Institute at George Mason University and of the National Center for State Court’s General Counsel Committee.

According to Illinois Supreme Court Rule 799(b), the Court handpicks a total fourteen members to serve on the Commission. These commissioners are selected with regard to their reputations for professionalism and for their past contributions to the bar and local communities.

Circuit Court Judge and Chair of the Commission, Hon. Debra Walker welcomed the new commissioners with open arms.

We are delighted to welcome three new commissioners who hail from several different cities across the state of Illinois, solidifying our commitment to advancing the state of professionalism throughout all of Illinois.

Each of the new commissioners has officially begun their first term of three years, replacing former commissioners Hon. Richard Tognarelli, Vincent Vitullo, and Lawrence Templer, all three of whom served on the Commission from its inception in 2006 through the end of last year.

In addition to the appointment of these three commissioners, Commissioner Edward J. Walsh, Jr. was appointed to replace former commissioner Hon. Tognarelli as Vice-Chair of the Commission until his term is completed on December 31, 2017.

Likewise, William Moran III and Vanessa Romeo were reappointed to serve on the Commission on Professionalism for a second term which will expire on December 31, 2018.

# # #

About the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism

The Commission on Professionalism was established by the Illinois Supreme Court in September 2005 to foster increased civility, professionalism and inclusiveness among lawyers and judges in the State of Illinois. By advancing the highest standards of conduct among lawyers, we work to better serve clients and society alike. These duties we uphold are defined under Supreme Court Rule 799(c). For more information, please visit, the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism’s website.

Press Contacts:

Jayne Reardon
Executive Director

Erika Kubik
Communications Specialist

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *