Mark Your Calendars For The Upcoming Vanguard Awards

2017 vanguard awardsEach year, the Chicago Bar Association and a number of other Illinois bar associations honor legal professionals for their work in diversity and inclusion. This year, the 2017 Vanguard Awards will recognize 15 lawyers, judges, and legal organizations who help make the law and the legal profession more accessible to and reflective of the community-at-large.

Each of the honorees has worked to make the profession a better place for those of varying ethnicities, races, sexual orientations, and genders and more representative of the client’s today’s professionals represent.

The 2017 Vanguard Award Honorees include:

  • Michael C. Aguhar of the Filipino American Lawyers Association
  • Justice Anne M. Burke of the Chicago Bar Association
  • Chicago Legal Clinic, Inc. Advocates Society  
  • Susana Darwin of the Lesbian and Gay Bar Association of Chicago  
  • Justice Robert E. Gordon of the Decalogue Society of Lawyers
  • David Herrera of the Puerto Rican Bar Association
  • Hon. Patricia Brown Holmes (Ret.) of the Black Women Lawyers Association  
  • Sana’a Hussien of the Arab American Bar Association of Illinois
  • Andrea S. Kramer of the Women’s Bar Association of Illinois
  • Sang-yul Lee of the Asian American Bar Association
  • James D. Montgomery Sr. of the Cook County Bar Association
  • National Immigrant Justice Center Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois  
  • Tony Shu of the Chinese American Bar Association
  • Sufyan Sohel of the South Asian Bar Association of Chicago
  • Adrian Vuckovich of the Serbian Bar Association

The annual Vanguard Awards reception will be held on April 6, 2017 at the Standard Club’s Grand Ballroom, located at 320 S. Plymouth Court in Chicago. The reception will begin at 11:30am with a lunch to follow at 12:00pm.

Registration is currently available for those wishing to attend. To reserve a seat or an entire table of ten, please contact Tamra Drees. She can be reached at 312-554-2057 or via email at

The fee for registration at this year’s Vanguard Awards is $70 per person or $700 for a table of 10.

Share this:

Erika Kubik

Erika Kubik

Former Communications Specialist at Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism
Erika is the former Communications Specialist for the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism. She successfully developed strategies to increase 2Civility’s social presence across channels. As a recent graduate of Bradley University, Erika received her Bachelor of Arts studying Public Relations and Social Media Marketing where her passion for writing and brand development took flight. Outside of the office, Erika works to develop her own personal brand as she takes on Chicago for the first time having grown up just outside of the Greater St. Louis area. Though she may not be accustomed to the deep dish pizza as a Celiac, she has found the Windy City to be quite accommodating to her active lifestyle as a runner and fitness fanatic.
Erika Kubik

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *