Order of the Court: New & Reappointed Commissioners

new commissionersOn November 18, 2014 the Illinois Supreme Court entered an order appointing new members and reappointing existing members to the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism. Each year, the Court sends an order to the Commission staff that informs both the team and all Commissioners on any changes to the fourteen person roster.

Effective January 1, 2015, two new Commissioners will be welcomed to the Commission on Professionalism. Hon. Sharon Johnson Coleman of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and Martin V. Sinclair, Attorney at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, were appointed to serve two-year terms as Commissioners. Both of their terms will expire on December 31, 2017.

Judge Coleman and Martin Sinclair will replace Hon. Micheal J. McCuskey and Gordon B. Nash, Jr. Both Commissioners were members of the Commission on Professionalism in its inaugural year in 2005.

Commissioner Gordon Nash was on the original Committee of Civility that later formed into the now Commission on Professionalism. He also served as Chair of the Commission from 2009 to 2012. Hon. Michael McCuskey will stay connected with the Commission, and serve as a special adviser to the Commission on Professionalism. Both, Judge McCuskey and Gordon Nash were instrumental to the success of the Commission.

In addition to this, according to the order, current commissioners John E. Corkery, Edward Walsh, and Hon. Debra B. Walker will be reappointed to the Commission. All three of their terms will expire on December 31, 2017. Judge Walker will remain Chair of the Commission, and Ed Walsh will serve as Vice-Chair.

Though we are sad to see Hon. Michael J. McCuskey and Gordon B. Nash, Jr. go, the staff and current Commissioners at the Commission on Professionalism are confident that the organization will continue to flourish. There is no doubt that these new additions will help advance civility and professionalism in the Illinois legal community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *